Home > Etsy Beauty Products > First Haus Of Gloi Haul

First Haus Of Gloi Haul

First found Haus Of Gloi about 5 months ago after watching a few haul videos on You Tube, I was looking for a new brand to get into. Found a few mixed reviews; people seemed to be totally in love with the Haus products, or really not so sure, or felt they weren’t right for them (due to complex scents).

Decided I’d wait, and one day I’d make an order… oh man should have ordered much sooner:  I’ve missed the Spring scent line and a few “reverie” products whilst waiting (pift.)

First of all, I ordered about 6pm one night and about 3 hours later I was sent an email to say my order was being sent out (ALREADY!!!!!!) Within a week it was here. Was bowled over by the super speedy turnaround, and then I got really excited about my order because if customer service is like that then I had high hopes for the products.

I ordered the Honey Tree Emulsifying Scrub 1oz (price $2), Moon Dog Sample Perfume Vial ($2.50) and Picaroon 2oz jar of Lotion ($3.50) and I received a free sample of Vice Soap.

Everything was wrapped well in tissue paper and when I opened it up I could smell chocolate and coconut. I also received a little thank you card.

The Vice sample soap has lasted me three showers. Decided before I even used it I would buy myself some, the scent described is:

Steam billows rolling off a vessel of fresh made Turkish coffee, marshmallow goo tainted by graham cracker crumbs, toasted hazelnuts and blanketed in black chocolate.

Oooh yum, makes me hungry even just looking at that description let alone sniff it!!! The coffee smell is gorgeous, now I love my coffee and I love the smell of fresh coffee but I’m usually put off by coffee beauty scents, either way too overpowering or you end up smelling like you’ve had a cup poured over you and it goes stale. Vice is nothing like that, the chocolate gives the coffee a nice darker note. The soap lathers up easily and my skin hasn’t dryed up after use. (and my skin is prone to drying with most soaps). Vice perfume is definitely on my list of Haus must haves.

Next up, Honey Tree Scrub, have heard so much good stuff about this scent and it certainly seems to be one of the top HoG scents. It is very sweet, a little bit too sweet for me, although it is nice, and I will continue to use this scrub up I wouldn’t be buying it in scrub form again, however I have heard the Honey Tree soap is more musky and that sounds just the right blend for me. So will be buying the soap as I really want to like this. Scent description is:

Right from the bee hive honey, amplified by seductive essence of vanilla, darkened by a passing waft of woody smoke. A beautiful brown splattered with golden mica.

Can smell the honey mainly, but can pick out the notes of smoke and vanilla. I just want a little less honey. The scrub works really well, the sugar is very fine and not a harsh scrub, one of the best scrubs I’ve used in fact, It doesn’t leave you feeling greasy but after you’ve washed off the sugar there is some oils left on your skin, like I say it’s not greasy though. Which is weird right!! The blend of oils just work very well. Skin just feels soft and very moisturised. The 1oz tub gives you lots of showers worth of product, I only use a small half a teaspoon size amount, and it’s more than enough, also it’s nice to try a scent/scrub without buying a huge frigging jar and finding you don’t like the scent or product and then wasting most of it just to get rid of it. For $2 you just can’t go wrong with this.

The sugar is fine and amazingly soft on your skin

Moon Dog perfume next.. this scent is AWESOME. Nope! It’s gorgeous! Nope, It’s delicious. Damn it, it’s all of those things and more. Try it, try it NOW!!! Haus gives you a very generous sample, god knows how many days worth you can get out of this, if you tried it every day for a month I’d say that’ll last that amount of time. I use the scent on my wrists and every so often I can smell it, but it’s in no way over powering to anyone around you, it’s more of a personal scent, you’d want to keep smelling just for yourself. Haus describes this as:

Solar storms erupt: pure cracked coconut, dry sandalwood heated with Indonesian nutmeg and a Singapore clove.

Spicy yes! And complex, and oh so yummy. It’s very sexy, and a very adult scent. Again very nicely priced sample. The vial is labelled- very good if you buy more than one scent.

The scent lasts for most of the day, but you get so much product you’d be re-applying every few hours just to have more to smell. Seriously, it’s THAT good.

Last product is the Picaroon Lotion. The lotion comes in 2oz tubs, 4oz bottles and 6oz jars. The 2oz is well priced, and you really don’t need a lot of product for each application, the lotion sinks into your skin quickly, non greasy (in fact every review I’ve read says the lotion is one of the best non greasy products around) yet the lotion doesn’t disappear it leaves skin soft, and moisturised. I usually have a issue with lotions, I have dry skin on my upper arms, some lotions have made it worse, some moisturise yet still have to keep re-applying product every few hours. Difference with this, I don’t need to re-apply product. First application sorts out my dry issue, leaves my skin nicely scented (scent lingers on skin all day) but I will admit I do re-apply this lotion… Why? Because a) I love the fragrance. and b) I figure it isn’t hurting to put more on. This is the first lotion I’ve used that I don’t have to go wash my hands afterwards.

The scent!

Sun scorched mahogany bough crusted with a crystalline sea spray! Faint plundered rare spices. Lemongrass, coconuts, fine Mexican lime and Haitian bay rum.

Don’t let the sound of lemongrass put you off. It’s blended so well it compliments the spices. The yummy coconut and rum notes are the reason why I re-apply. Very unique.

Overall, I love everything, I do love the Honey Tree (but really want the soap now). Items are affordable, samples are generous. Packaging is beautiful.

Already re-ordered the new Summer scents for my second order. Will be trying every scent Haus offers.

Haus Of Gloi are based in Portland, OR in the US. They offer 16 scents (look here for the general catalogue, and also seasonal limited edition fragrances. Scents can be found in bath salts, perfume oils, soap, scrub, new foaming scrubs, and lotion. This company is strictly vegan, if you have any questions about this just send Britton a convo on Etsy.

  1. June 22, 2010 at 4:03 am

    Moon Dog is So. Good. I just got my second order and can’t wait to try all the new scents. So far Imp is a must have and of the new scents I like Beguiled with Red Roan a close second.

    • June 22, 2010 at 5:07 am

      My order was sent out few days ago, hopefully it’ll be with me by the weekend, really can’t wait to try the new scents, did you get the Beguiled soap before it sold out? Hopefully can get some more of that when next batch is ready.
      Imp is on the list for next order, that and satyr sound yummy.

  2. June 22, 2010 at 5:27 am

    I DID get the Beguiled soap. I didn’t realize it had sold out! I normally don’t buy soaps from anyone but Chagrin Valley but I just couldn’t resist. Hopefully it won’t dry my skin out!

    • June 22, 2010 at 10:22 am

      Have dry skin and found the soap to be very moisturising.
      Yeah day after summer products were released Beguiled soap had totally gone. It looks awesome.

  3. July 27, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Haus of Gloi – wowza! I am absolutely stunned at how good this stuff is!
    Lovely Lovely Lovely.

  4. December 1, 2010 at 3:34 am

    Huge fan of Moon Dog, Depravity and Picaroon.

    Soap is my quick pick 🙂

  1. January 2, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

