Home > Etsy Beauty Products > Follow Up : Summer Scents By Haus Of Gloi

Follow Up : Summer Scents By Haus Of Gloi

This week I received my summer scents sampler pack from Haus Of Gloi, they came in a little box filled with tissue paper and a free sample vial of Moon Dog and little Haus thank you card.

In the pack was four new summer only limited edition scents ($10), labelled and packed tightly so no leaks.

I already had high hopes for these new fragrances, so far have been very impressed with the quality and how long the scents actually last for, along with the unique scents themselves.

The pack contained the following vials:

Beguiled

Lemon cake made with the tang of fresh buttermilk, raspberry coulis – an otherwise innocent cake corrupted by cardamon and deceptive pink peppercorns.

Never been keen on lemon scents, find they end up making you smell like horrid cheap kitchen and bathroom cleaners. HOWEVER, this is a warm just baked lemon cake. Not artificial, and the lemon isn’t a sharp zesty note. And yes can imagine some raspberry coulis running down the side of the cake. A daytime fragrance oil that is really comforting and yummy. This would work well for me in perfume oil, soap and scrub.

Zazz:

Tart cranberry, pink grapefruit, sparkling champagne all shook up crushed with ginger root

Had this on today, which was a gorgeous very hot British humid day. And every so often got a little whiff of this, and loved it, Zazz is sparkling, very fizzy scent, never smelt anything like this before. Little bit of ginger root I can smell. Very summery and fun. In the vial I didn’t like it so much, but on my skin the fizziness becomes the sparkling as referred to. This would work best for me in perfume oil and soap.

Red Roan:

Fresh strawberry flecked porridge with maple syrup and adulterated with a splash of white cognac.

This is probably the least favourite, although saying that I do love it, just not as much as the other three. The strawberry works well with the maple syrup but for me I think I’d prefer this in a lotion rather than oil.

Insalata Nocturna:

In the night garden, green Bolivian lemon, rubbed tomato leaf, olive leaf absolute, black fig syrup and basil.

Before this arrived I was expecting not to like this so much, was expecting it to be herbal and not expecting it to be so fresh. This is why ordering samples works, because now I love this, it is fresh, and totally reminds me of Italy, slight edge of citrus takes me back to Verona and Lake Garda and the outside cafes a few years ago, it’s lighter than expected, and is a scent that would work well day or night. This would well in scrubs, perfume oil and lotion.

Overall, $10 gets you a good amount of perfume oil, some new addictive scents leaving me impressed as ever that I found the Haus.

  1. June 27, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Oh, awesome! Thanks for reviewing these, especially Insalata Nocturna – I picked up some Haus of Gloi gifts for friends, and decided to get Insalata Nocturna for one of them, hoping it wouldn’t be too weird as a perfume. Banking on Haus of Gloi’s genius for scents – glad to hear it’s fresh and not too herbal. 🙂

    • June 27, 2010 at 2:50 am

      No it really works as a perfume, really nice surprise, actually quite refreshing especially on a really hot day because it is so fresh. And is like Zazz because it smells better on skin.

      • June 28, 2010 at 3:40 pm

        Excellent! And I was considering Zazz, too, but didn’t get it. I may have to fix that. 🙂

  2. June 28, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Zazz and Insalata Nocturna are the most summery scents, the other two I think are more autumn/winter scents, as they are comforting fragrances rather than fresh. If in any doubt get the sample scrubs, only a few dollars. Don’t know if you read that the Haus will be taking a break from the 3rd of July for 10 days. Will have to get in a couple of orders when they get back.

    • July 1, 2010 at 2:45 pm

      I got a free sample of Beguiled with my most recent order, and holy crap does it smell wonderful! And Insalata Nocturna was great, too (and, like you said, fresh – that’s totally the word to describe it). I am definitely going to have to get full sized bottles of these.

      • July 1, 2010 at 5:42 pm

        Good thing with Beguiled is, after a few hours smells warmer if you see what I mean. Gorgeous aren’t they. Really work so well and not what you expect.
        There’s some very limited edition soap avaliable on the 22nd July in the “reverie” section, it tends to sell out in couple of hours… this one is called “blushing almond” have to get some of this, love to smell her take of almond.

  3. July 3, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    I loved all of these as well, and I agree with you about Beguiled and Red Roan being great cool weather scents.

    I feel so lucky that I got the Beguiled soap!

    • July 3, 2010 at 10:38 pm

      Really hope there’s some more made at some point. Can imagine the soap is yummy.

  1. June 26, 2010 at 2:07 am
  2. January 2, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

